Cable & Satellite cost too much? Looking for a cheaper option?? Product Review.

The Roku Streaming device.

d0e8dfe2-2d74-426f-95bf-fe6679a4cd16_1.95f03d16087ce96b93ab16c3f0cfb73a

Several years ago, I decided to try out a streaming device called Roku. First I bought a Roku streaming stick, but it didn’t seem to work when I popped it into the HDMI port of the TV. I took it back, and got a Roku 1 for around $50 and it worked fine. You do have to have home internet with WI-FI to stream with it. 

Like anything, there are pros and cons to it, but overall I love it. My 1st one still works great and I now have a 2nd one on another TV.  When I first got mine, there were only 2 versions of it available. Now there are several different Roku devices from streaming sticks, to wireless, to wired. Currently, the cheapest option is the Roku Express which you can get at Walmart for $30, the next is the streaming stick for $40 (check local listings at your nearest Walmart or Best buy to check their inventory) You can purchase a Roku online or in Stores, but the actual Roku website will always show you only their most expensive or newest options. When I went to purchase my most recent Roku 1, the salesman at Best Buy even said that the newer higher priced ones are not better, they all have the same content. 

So what type of content can you expect from a Roku? 

Well, your Roku will come preloaded with several channels and you can go into the streaming channels menu and download thousands more. There are a lot of free channels and some channels you pay a subscription fee for, but only if you want that. The free movie channels have thousands of movies and shows to watch. The downside is, you do have to watch ads throughout just like commercials in a regular show or movie being shown on TV. There are music channels, Karaoke channels, Kids channels, Baby channels, Pet channels, Cooking channels, Yoga and other workout channels, PopSugar channel, Channels to view happenings around the world like live street cams, channels to view outer space in real time, paranormal channels, comedy channels, sports channels, Religious channels, and so much more. You can stream Pandora, you can watch videos on YouTube, you can watch free music videos on VEVO. Paid subscription channels include Netflix, Hulu, and Sling just to name a few. Have a kid that loves Doc Mcstuffins, Sofia the first, or other Disney Jr. shows? You can add the Disney Jr. channel, and even without a cable or satellite subscription it will unlock a couple of episodes for your child to watch. Netflix is well worth the $8 per month I pay for it, and I get to see movies and shows that would cost way more going to the local Family Video to rent. I did used to go to FV a lot, until I realized a large majority of what they had there, was already in my Roku either free or on Netflix.  I have not tried Sling, but may test it out in the future. Hulu I did try out and I was not happy with it. I got a free trial to it and then tried to add a 1 month pass that I bought with Microsoft rewards points and it never worked so I had to be refunded for the reward. I did use the Trial month I got for signing up, but felt it was not worth me keeping after it was up. A show I liked would be there one day and gone the next. I also didn’t like that for the same price as I pay for Netflix, it expected me to pay that and still have to watch ads play or go for the higher priced option. The higher priced option was supposed to offer more content, but still possibly contain ads because “Some of the movies and shows cost a lot of money to show”. 

Is it worth it to switch?

If you are one of those people who says you can’t live without your $300 a month cable or satellite, this might not be for you. If you are tired of paying that huge bill every month, give it a try. Try it out for a week or 2 and if you don’t like it, you can return it for a refund. You could be saving money, and still get a lot of good stuff to watch. You don’t even have to miss out on cable and satellite channels like Tru, Spike, MTV, VH1, BET, DIY, Food Network etc.. with the Sling Channel. Sling service starts at $20 and you can customize your own package. You can even add channels like HBO for an extra $5 per month! 

So what are you waiting for? Give a Roku a try, you might really like it! 

 

That’s all for now, until next time!

Cici

Leave a Reply

